japanese day spa – in my garden

Japanese scrubSo we haven’t had much of a summer, and I was feeling all, you know, like I wanted to scrub the world off my skin. Not like one of those ‘therapeutic’ scrubs that gently exfoliate in concentric circles until you feel so calm you might even consider the colonic that the day spa happens to also offer. I mean, I want to feel scratched to the soft under skin. So I was going to have to do it myself.

backyard spa‘Build it and they will come’. Well, I’ll be there anyway – and the chickens might pass by, but that’s about it ’cause its down the back of my yard.

It’s my personal day spa. Constructed out of bamboo screening, some bits of wood (’cause I couldn’t for the life of me find one of those wooden bathroom mats), a stump, a terracotta dish to hold my homemade scrub and a garden hose.

Ah ha, I said a garden hose. That’s how I rinse off. Don’t be scared. You’re already naked in the backyard, what’s a bit of cold water gonna do?

home spa

4 thoughts on “japanese day spa – in my garden

  1. Hmmm, I think I will need to try said spa out when I come to stay at the hotel. You’ve been a very busy little barelypoppins this weekend!

  2. Pingback: jelly bubble bath: a parent’s beauty regime | barelypoppins

Would you like to comment?

