the bad egg

I had just made a lovely boiled egg breakfast, sat down and BAM! There is was, a bad egg, right there in my eggcup. I’ve never actually experienced a rotten egg before, and I use the term ‘experienced’ intentionally as the sight and smell of a bad egg are an experience. A stomach turning experience. But it made me wonder, what made this egg go bad and why don’t we find bad eggs in the supermarket carton?

An internet journey of discovery began.

So I typed “what makes an egg rotten” into my local search engine and got some stink-bomb recipes. So I typed, “how an egg becomes rotten”, and in one of the many forums I was offered there was a seemingly intelligent response about it having something to do with the white and the yolk mixing, someone else had replied with “gr8”. I stopped reading.

What I did find out is that it was possibly just a slightly more porous shell that allowed impurities to enter, some bacteria might have grown, I think the stink only stinks when mixed with air, and maybe, if your eggs are too warm for extended periods of time, it could contribute to and potentially result in a rotten egg, perhaps.

So, I’m none the wiser, but at least I know how to spell ‘great’.

a bad egg

4 thoughts on “the bad egg

  1. Good question – have never thought about it neither – had a couple of bad eggs, but the amount of egg I have been dealing with is millions in total. Have done a little post about eggs – http://wp.me/p293Pw-1Gu – if you are interested. Have see if I can find any answer.

    • Have found out some explanation – that it’s the shell that causes it – if the egg is too old air sipper through the shell – and that’s why the egg goes bad. Not much information out there. All eggs has a air bubble inside – the fresh the egg is the smaller bubble. The egg breath through the shell all the time.

  2. Oh no, how horrible. Was this one of your own eggs? Our pullets only started laying a few weeks ago and so far we’ve had an egg without a shell and one that looks like it got stuck halfway out (and one laid from the top perch – it didn’t survive) but no bad ones so far………

    • Oh dear, shell-less sounds a bit yucky. I haven’t had that happen but I think its got to do with calcium deficiency. I crush up my shells (so they cant be recognised as eggs anymore) and give them to the chickens to eat. Yes, it was one of my own eggs. Maybe Tikka was sitting on it too long so it was kept warm, but I’m still not sure why it happened exactly. It’s the only one I’ve ever had. And hopefully the last. I’m sure your chickens are working on being healthy happy layers – just getting in the swing of it. It’s so exciting collecting your own eggs from the coop.

Would you like to comment?

