a perfect pair of martinis

martini cocktailI’ve been doing a lot of research into this post… in fact, I’ve been doing a lot of cocktail research in general so stay tuned for some perfected classics!

About the vodka Martini, James Bond drinks one, we also like ours with a vodka base. What I’ve learned is that my resident Bond likes his very dry, while I like mine a little sweeter. So below are three Martinis: The Perfect, The Dry and The Slightly Sweeter. How do you like yours?

The Perfect
30 ml vodka
15 ml bianco vermouth
15 ml dry vermouth
ice
garnish

The Dry
30 ml vodka
30 ml dry vermouth
ice
garnish

The Slightly Sweeter
30 ml vodka
30 ml bianco vermouth
15 ml dry vermouth
ice
garnish

Ice a martini glass to chill for a few minutes.
Then place the ice into a cocktail shaker or glass jug.
Pour over the ice, vodka and vermouth (to the quantity that suits your buds), stir with a (clean) bamboo chopstick.
Dress the glass with a *garnish.
Strain the Martini into the glass.

*The garnish:
The (traditional) olive must be good quality and green
Try a twist of lemon rind in The Dry
Try a twist of lime rind in The Slightly Sweeter

One thought on “a perfect pair of martinis

  1. I know, I’m commenting on my own blog, but I was just reading the International Bartenders Guide and under martini it has a Boston Bullet, which is a dry martini with a almond stuffed olive! I’m excited about this because I was putting almond stuffed sicilian olives into my martini thinking it was pretty good, but when I wrote this post I thought you would think I’m mad putting stuffed olives into a martini. Point is, it works. Point two is, perhaps there really isn’t an original idea anymore. Whatever, just have a martini.

Would you like to comment?

