a silky white russian cocktail

For a while I had been fantasising about the Russian Torte “Mashenka” posted on one of my favourite blogs* and I finally succumbed and made myself one. Although mine is not as beautiful to look at as the original, and my lesson learned was to have more layers not less – It’s divine!! I’m enjoying it immensely.

I baked it in the quiet of the evening and by the time I had reached the point of layering the delectably creamy sauce, I was thinking about a nightcap. With about 2 tablespoons of cream left in the mixing bowl, I created a silky smooth white russian cocktail that didn’t seem as heavy as with pure cream.

white russianIf you don’t happen to be making the cake at the time, here’s what would achieve the result:
2 tbsp sour cream
¼ tsp caster sugar
30 ml Kahlua
30 ml vodka
½ cup milk
Ice

Combine well and serve with lots of ice.

Thank you Anastasia for a very decadent evening!!

My attempt at Anastasia's Mashenka Torte

*While Chasing Kids

7 thoughts on “a silky white russian cocktail

  1. Thank You! I am so glad someone tries my recipes! Your Mashenka looks gorgeous! Glad you made it – it’s one of the easiest tortes, isn’t it?! Love that you were not lazy on the chocolate shavings – it’s my least favorite part, but it makes so much difference! More layers and more cream do make it more flavorful. Just give it some time – it will be even tastier tomorrow!
    Thanks again! Your post made my evening!!!

    • I’m glad you approve of my attempt. And you are right, the cake does get better and better. Two of my pop-in visitors today asked if there was any cake left to have with their tea. It seems this cake is popular with everyone. Looking forward to making some more Russian delights a la Anastasia.

  2. WOW, WOW! I am actually craving BOTH right now!! Have never thought to put in Sour Cream, might just have to try that . . . NOW!!

  3. That cake looks so delicious and I can imagine it’s great with a White Russian (my favorite drink and not just because I love The Big Lebowksi :D )

  4. I just finished looking at Anastasias blog and her marvelous recipes, so you can imagine my surprise to see her mentioned here also! What a coincidence!! I am certainly going to try her recipes. In the MEAN time, your post about gardening is too good! I would like to reblog it please, tomorrow probably as I just posted for today.

    The White Russian sounds refreshing.

Would you like to comment?

