waffles: brunch with my oma

My waffle iron is so old that it proclaims it was “Made in West Germany”. But not to be hindered by age, on the (rare) occasion that I bring out this heirloom, it does no less than produce some spectacular waffles. Although I’m generally against single function appliances, it’s true, I’m highly sentimental about this one. Since it was handed down, I’ve carried it from place to place. I thoroughly clean it after each use and tenderly put it back in the cupboard. It never lets me down. (*Oma is German for grandma/nan)

waffles and berry compotewaffle batter:
1 ¾ cup plain flour
¼ cup self raising flour
¼ cup caster sugar
2 eggs, separated
1 ½ cup milk
60 g butter, melted
2 tbsp cold water
extra butter to brush the iron

sides:
Berry compote – frozen raspberries, frozen blueberries, a tsp of caster sugar and a few fresh strawberries. Microwave for a minute, stir and repeat to produce a saucy berry mix.
Greek yoghurt
Lime (because I serve lime with everything I can)
Maple syrup

Sift flours and sugar into a large bowl.
Make a well in the middle and gradually combine the egg yolks and milk.
Add butter and water, beat the batter until smooth.
In a separate bowl, whisk egg whites until firm white peaks form.
Fold the egg whites into the batter.
Brush the waffle iron with butter and spoon about ⅓ cup of batter into the iron, in about 2 mins remove and repeat with remaining batter.
Keep waffles warm in a low oven until serving.

20 thoughts on “waffles: brunch with my oma

  1. I love waffles. I also have a waffle maker that puts them into a sweet heart shape. A frind of The Hubby’s decided to sleep over after a game night because I mentioned I would be making waffles the next morning, haha.

  2. Thank you for the recipe. Seriously, I was searching the web for it and could not find it. Other similar recipes are more complicated. I tried one, and it did not work for me. I think, this one would.

  3. Very cool looking waffels! I know how you feel about that appliance. I have a hand mixer that is all metal, very old, and kicks butt like no modern plastic one!

  4. Childhood memories coming back to me, my Norwegian grandma would make these for me, they were divine :-) She added cardamom as well.
    This recipe looks so good! Thanks for the inspiration!

  5. My waffle iron is so old that it proclaims it was “Made in West Germany”.
    The best blog opener I’ve read so far this year.

    (*Oma is German for grandma/nan).

    I wonder if there’s an linguistic-evolutionary reason for why the word for “mother/mom” in many languages either has an “m” or is pronounced with variations of the “ma” sound.

    Mandarin – “ma-ma,” “ah-ma” or “ma”
    French – “mère”
    Korean – “uh-muh-ni” for mother and “uh-ma” for mom.
    Japanese – okaa-san among other ways
    Danish – mor
    Dutch – moeder
    Hindi – mam
    Italian – mamma….
    Tamil – am-ma
    Thai – Mæ̀ (sounds like “mehhh”)
    Vietnamese – Me (sounds like “meh”)

    I could look it up in every language provided by google translator but i shan’t. ^_^

    • Thanks very much for the compliment! That’s a big call – either I should just pick up sticks now or I’m going to have to work hard for the rest of the year. I love your comment. It’s interesting. Particularly that every kid I know (admittedly about 10 isn’t a huge sample on a global scale) started out with a ‘daa’ sound. Suited me at 3am though, “she’s calling you, honey”.

      • I told my sister about it and she said that when sounds like “ma” and “da” and “no” are easier for children to say because it only requires manipulation of the muscles in front of the mouth. Words and sounds that need the back of the mouth and more coordination of the tongue would require more skill, more years.

        That makes sense to me.

  6. Catalam for Grangma is Iaia (pronounced yaya), which is a very strange word. The waffles and fruit look lovely, and I’m ashamed to say that I’ve only ever had frozen waffles which probably aren’t the same thing at all.

    • Not sure, there could be something to be said for the convenience of the frozen waffle. I sometimes think about getting frozen crepes because I’m terrible at making them. I mean, really terrible. They are like rubber. I like Yaya, that’s nice.

  7. Gods that looks good! Would your recipe work with gluten free flours? I’d probably use rice flour mixed with some potato or tapioca flour just to keep it light but I want to know if it would work before I borrow the waffle iron my ex-husband and I got for our wedding (he kept it lol)

    • I haven’t had much experience with gluten free flours, but I bet you could make it work. I notice that the supermarket had a gluten free self raising flour (its a mix of maize, tapioca, potato, rice flour, with sodium bicarbonate). I have a friend with a egg allergy in the house and she still makes amazing things so I think the substitutes are very good these days. …Gee, if he got the waffle iron you must have got something really good!

      • My freedom ;-) So far I’ve pretty much been able to make anything work. Can’t do the maize though, totally corn intolerant. I’ll hunt down another waffle iron, now that i have a new recipe to try!

  8. This sounds good. I make waffles, but not very often. And I have one of the new-fangled eletric waffle makers (that are hard to properly clean). Often I wish I had the old waffle maker my Mom had way back when. Enjoy ALL of your Oma’s recipes. (There’s something about the old fashioned way of making things that makes food comfort food to me.)

    • Thanks for this comment, you got me thinking about my Oma and other things that she used to cook. I’ve never met anyone that can do potato mash like her. It’s a shame I didn’t pay more attention at the time.

Would you like to comment?

