not just mushrooms on toast

I love the earthiness of mushrooms. Especially the brown ones. They taste like a forest. If I close my eyes, I’m somewhere else. While I’m not keen on the hallucinogenic kind, nor the kind that kill you. I’m very fond of the table varieties. Eating these mushrooms feels as soul nurturing as a bush walk on a crisp and clear Autumn morning (but with less exertion).

mushroom and egg on toastMushrooms on toast #1
sourdough bread, toasted
parmesan cheese, finely grated
butter
olive oil
parsley, chopped
thyme, chopped
swiss brown mushrooms, sliced
salt
black pepper
egg, poached (I had 2 eggs because this was actually my dinner)
½ clove garlic, crushed (garlic is optional. Either add to the frying mushrooms or rub it on the toast if you want a sharper flavour)

Fry the mushrooms in butter and oil, add parsley and thyme.
Sprinkle the parmesan on the toast, top with mushrooms.
Place poached egg on top and finish with salt, pepper and a parsley garnish.

mushroom and goat cheese on toast

Mushrooms on toast #2
sourdough bread, toasted
goat cheese curd (a smooth creamy goat cheese)
olive oil
swiss brown mushrooms, sliced
salt
black pepper
parsley, chopped

Fry the mushrooms in a little oil.
Spread the goats cheese on the toast, sprinkle with salt.
Top with mushrooms.
Finish with pepper and parsley.

19 thoughts on “not just mushrooms on toast

  1. I hate this terminology, but OMG! I’m sitting here not yet having had breakfast and I so want this to appear magically in front of me! (Even the photos look good enough to eat!)

  2. this looks freaking fantastic! Like, I would totally eat that for dinner right now. today. and I might. I’ve got 4 big portobello shroom caps at home that would probably be fantastic chopped up. I love mushrooms! Thanks for sharing :)

      • I will probably do goat cheese. I try to always have some in the house, and there is something intoxicating about goat cheese when it’s warm and melty. It’s fantastic cold, but it goes to like 10 levels higher when it’s warm!

  3. I love mushrooms. Every time I am enjoying a cooked breakfast, it involves mushrooms! I love cooking them. Try this: cook the mushrooms off in a little butter or olive oil until brown. Sprinkle basil, crushed garlic and feta. Yum

  4. Pingback: Chorizo and Wild Mushrooms with a Spicy Vermicelli « From the Hobbit Hole Kitchen

Would you like to comment?

