sleep when you’re dead: another cup of joe?

Coffee sleep when you're deadCoffee. It’s one of our favourite legal drugs. That and alcohol*. We all have our favourite cup of joe. And a language that goes with it. Flat white, skinny cap, decaf latte, soy, in a mug, in a shot, sugar, honey, lemon… It’s as personal as your fingerprint.

Here’s how I drink coffee:
At home. Strong espresso, some evaporated milk, sugar then heat it in the microwave until just below “f**k that’s hot!” (that’s an official temperature).

At my desk, non-descript, however my mouth did say “a flat white, please”. Purchased from the human equivalent of a coffee vending machine. Cold, bitter and reheated too many times to bother doing it again.

At home. With play-dough stuck to the side of the cup. It started out with such potential, now it’s giving up. Defeated and reheated too many times to bother doing it again.

At home. A shot in a small glass. It’s late and dark. The creme is bitter on my lips. It reminds me that I’m alive. I look like a vampire caught in the act. Wide eyed and wild.

In a cafe. One where they roast their own coffee beans. It’s fair trade, it’s hot, it’s smooth. It doesn’t need sugar. It’s bold and defiant. It reminds me that my life is nothing without good coffee. I want to have another one.

Coffee Plantation Brazil

*I put cigarettes in another category: Marketing devil spawn. Or is it third world population control. Or is it both.

images: Coffee Plantation, Brazil, http://en.wikipedia.org 
Sleep when you’re dead, http://uncyclopedia.wikia.com

6 thoughts on “sleep when you’re dead: another cup of joe?

  1. Coffee … and catering goes hand in hand … especially cold coffee. You go for a cup and when you back the ticket machine is full of food orders. So cold coffee is normal for me, coming home late from work a big mug of coffee and then under the duvet. Still love my coffee – I’m very picky about it. Starbucks has one of the worst coffee on the market, but made through their strong branding and marketing. During my cancer treatment I couldn’t drink coffee at all – it taste metal. It took me 5 weeks after treatments was over to order a cup of coffee and I can’t say I enjoyed it, but now I’m back on it – but only a grand mug for breakfast and I enjoy it so much.

Would you like to comment?

